In Ohio, traffic offenses consist of both moving and non-moving violations, many of which carry demerit points. Ohio traffic offenses can range in degree from minor misdemeanors, carrying a maximum penalty of up to a $150 fine to first-degree misdemeanors, carrying up to six (6) months in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. Some offenses carry points on your traffic record and auto insurance, while others do not. On that note, some offenses carry driver’s license suspensions and others do not. Below is a list of some of the more common moving violations and the points they carry on your license.
Moving Violations – Points on Your Driver’s License
Six-Point Moving Violations
|-Aggravated vehicular homicide, vehicular homicide, vehicular manslaughter, aggravated vehicular assault, or vehicular assault|
|-Willful fleeing or eluding a law enforcement officer|
|-Failing to stop and disclose identity at scene of an accident|
|-Driving under a 12-point, OVI, or ALS suspension|
|-Operating under the influence of alcohol, drugs of abuse, or both (OVI / DUI)|
|-Unauthorized use of a motor vehicle|
|-Any felony motor vehicle violation, any felony committed in a motor vehicle|
Four-Point Moving Violations
|-Operation of a vehicle after underage consumption|
|-Operation in willful and wanton disregard of public safety of persons or property|
|-Exceeding speed limit by > 30 mph|
Two-Point Moving Violations
|-Exceeding speed limit of > 55 or higher by > 10 mph but < 30 mph|
|-Exceeding speed limit of < 55 or higher by > 5 mph but < 30 mph|
|-Operating a vehicle in violation of registrar’s license restriction|
|-ORC 4510.11, ORC 4510.111, ORC 4510.16, ORC 4510.21, or any DUS ordinance|
|-All other moving violations, except 4510.12, which is 0 points|
If you have been charged with driving under suspension, you’re probably wondering what your options are. Skip Potter has over 35 years of experience handling these types of cases and winning optimal outcomes for our clients. Call our office today for a free consultation if you are seeking a defense lawyer.
To contact us, call us at (419) 353-7547.